15th Games of the Small States of Europe – Luxembourg 2013 stamps

May 4th, 2013

Since 1985, the Games of the Small States of Europe have been taking place bi-annually.

The participation is limited to countries with less than one million inhabitants, that have their own National Olympic Committee (NOC) and are member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

Nine states belong to this select group: Cyprus, Montenegro, Malta, Iceland, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, San Marino and Luxembourg.

The Games usually take place at the end of May or the beginning of June. They include, according to the governing regulation, the following sports: athletics, swimming, judo, shooting, tennis and table tennis.

There are two team sports, one of which must be basket- or volleyball. At the discretion of the Executive Committee, the event's organizer may include two further sports. One of these must be recognized at Olympic level.

This year sees Luxembourg play host to the Games. To mark the occasion, a commemorative stamp is edited in May as a double postage stamp with decorated borders.

For the first time, the Games of the Small States of Europe will be transmitted electronically. The Games might be followed over the internet by any device - computer, touchpad or smartphone.

To highlight the online presence, the mascot of the Games will resemble a robot. It will be placed next to the QR code on the stamp, leading to the Games' website.