July 3rd, 2014

30th anniversary of the self-governing status was commemorated with a new issue

Under French protectorate in 1843, a colony called "Etablissements français de l'Océanie" (French Establishments in Oceania) after King POMARE IV donated his states to France on 29 June 1880, then Territoire d'Outre-Mer (French Overseas Territory) in 1946, French Polynesia is inscribed in the French Constitution since March 28, 2003.

Major political developments over the past three decades built current French Polynesia. They began on September 6, 1984, when the Territory adopted a "self-governing status within the French Republic". New transfers of powers on April 12, 1996 and on February 27, 2004, reinforced self-governing status in favour of French Polynesia (Formerly Territory of French Polynesia). The Assembly of French Polynesia votes Country laws. The French State is competent in nationality, civil rights, electoral law, justice, foreign policy, defence and security and public order matters.

Festivities of the 30th anniversary of the self-governing status, hiva-vaevae, will last two months and with gather together cultural events (songs and dances competitions, canoe races, crafts, music festival, arrival of the Hokule'a canoe from Hawaii, exhibitions), animations in several islands, inauguration of the autonomy stele and the popular parade on June 29, 2014.

The Post office is honoured to share this page of the history of French Polynesia with this stamp.

We use cookies to improve your experience. By your continued use of this site you accept such use. To change your settings please see our policy