5 new stamps honor pioneering journalists

April 23rd, 2008

Five American journalists were honored on postage stamps released Tuesday by the United States Postal Service.

The 42-cent stamps cover the new first-class rate that will take effect May 12.

Honored on the stamps are:

  • Ruben Salazar, who chronicled the evolution of Mexican-American politics

  • Martha Gellhorn, who covered the Spanish Civil War, World War II and the Vietnam War

  • John Hersey, who documented the story of Hiroshima

  • George Polk, a CBS radio correspondent who reported on the civil strife in Greece after World War II

  • Eric Sevareid, broadcast journalist, commentator and writer, whose work influenced a generation of reporters

The stamps were dedicated at the National Press Club in recognition of the club's centennial celebration.