Celebrating more than a century of science on U.S. postage stamps

May 4th, 2005

Four American Scientists - Thermodynamicist Josiah Willard Gibbs, geneticist Barbara McClintock, mathematician John von Neumann and physicist Richard P. Feynman-were honored with postage stamps dedicated in a special ceremony today at Henry R. Luce Hall, Yale University, New Haven, CT.

As host to the event, New Haven holds the unique distinction of being the only city in the nation where the stamps will be available May 4. The stamps will be available at Post Offices and Philatelic Centers nationwide May 5.

"These are some of the greatest scientists of our time, their pioneering discoveries still influence our lives today," said John F. Walsh, a member of the U.S. Postal Service's Board of Governors, who dedicated the stamp.

Tags: #USA