General Elections commemorated on a Pakistani stamp

May 24th, 2013

Pakistan post issued a stamp to commemorate the General Elections 2013.

General elections were held in Pakistan on 11 May 2013, to elect the members of the 14th National Assembly and to the four provincial assemblies of Punjab, Sindh, Baluchistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Pakistan is the world's fifth largest democracy.  Pakistan is also the world's second largest Muslim democracy after Indonesia. The elections are noted for the first civilian transfer of power following the successful completion of a five year term by a democratically elected government. The election took place in 272 constituencies. None of the parties achieved the 137 seats needed for an overall majority. The Pakistan Muslim League (N), led by Nawaz Sharif, won the largest number of votes and seats but still fell thirteen seats short. This resulted in a hung parliament where no party was able to command a majority in the National Assembly.

Coalition talks began immediately between the PML-N and independent candidates and lasted for eight days. By 19th May, it was announced that Nawaz Sharif had successfully formed a coalition by bringing on-board eighteen independent candidates who had won seats in their respective constituencies, five more than the minimum required to form a coalition. This paved the way for Nawaz Sharif to become the 18th Prime Minister of Pakistan.

Tags: #Pakistan