Great tennis players honored with Australia Post Legends Award. 12 bright stamps by Australian Post released

January 26th, 2016 is glad to inform that Australia Post released eleven bright stamps that commemorate most loved and celebrated singles tennis players that are the recipients of the 2016 Australia Post Legends Award.

These all sportsmen achieved personal success in their sporting careers and played an important role in shaping the positive image of Australian tennis globally.

The 2016 Australia Post Legends Award recipients that are honored with stamps are Pat Cash, Ashley Cooper AO, Roy Emerson, Neale Fraser AO MBE, Evonne Goolagong Cawley AO MBE, John Newcombe AO OBE, Patrick Rafter, Tony Roche AO MBE, Ken Rosewall AM MBE, Frank Sedgman AM and Fred Stolle AO.

Ahmed Fahour, Managing Director & Group CEO, Australia Post, said this year's award honours eleven Australians who have demonstrated sportsmanship, tenacity and inspiration through their sporting and community achievements.

"We have such a rich history of talented tennis champions in this country, so it seemed fitting as we celebrate 20 years of the Legends Award, to highlight Australian tennis and some of the inspirational singles players Australia has seen over the decades. The legacy these players have created in the sport of tennis continues to attract and inspire new generations of players to the game", Mr Fahour said.

"We're also thrilled to celebrate and congratulate Lleyton Hewitt on such a successful career as he retires from competitive tennis this year. Through his dedication and commitment to the game, he continues to be an outstanding ambassador not only for the sport, but also for Australia", Mr Fahour continued.
The 2016 Australia Post Australian Legends will be honoured at official Australia Day Council events hosted in all capital cities, with the first luncheon taking place in Melbourne today. Each Legend will also be presented with a 24-carat gold replica of their stamp.