John Wayne saddles up

February 2nd, 2004

The U.S. Postal Service has chosen Marion Michael Morrison, better-known to millions of adoring fans as John Wayne, to be honored in the Legends of Hollywood commemorative stamp series this year. The full pane of stamps will be unveiled at the Odyssey Ball, a private fundraising gala for the John Wayne Cancer Institute in Santa Monica, on April 3, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. The official first day of issue ceremony will be held later in the year.

The John Wayne stamp joins others in the Legends of Hollywood series honoring Marilyn Monroe (1995), James Dean (1996), Humphrey Bogart (1997), Alfred Hitchcock (1998), James Cagney (1999), Edward G. Robinson (2000), Lucille Ball (2001), Cary Grant (2002) and Audrey Hepburn (2003).

Tags: #USA