June 6th, 2017

Legends 2017: Indigenous leaders. 3 bright collectable stamps introduced by Australia Post

FindYourStampsValue.com is excited to let our readers know that Australia Post has released three bright stamps in honor of the country’s remarkable Indigenous leaders: Tom Calma, Lowitja O’Donoghue and Galarrwuy Yunupingu.

These highly respected elders have been tireless in their life-long efforts to improve social and economic outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Since 1997, the Australia Post Australian Legends Awards has commemorated exceptional people who have made lifetime contributions to the nation’s identity and character.

In years past, Australia Post has awarded Australians who have contributed significantly to their area of expertise, including cricketer Sir Donald Bradman; artist Arthur Boyd; haematologist Donald Metcalf; actress Cate Blanchett; chef Maggie Beer; Victoria Cross recipient Ben Roberts-Smith; and tennis player Patrick Rafter.

Ahmed Fahour, Managing Director & Group CEO, Australia Post, said this year’s award recognises the leadership and advocacy the three recipients have demonstrated over the course of their lives to improve conditions for Indigenous Australians and to bring opportunities to their communities.

“We are pleased to recognise the hard work and unfailing effort our recipients have demonstrated for the betterment of their communities. Our recipients have overcome immense challenges as they have strived for equal representation and agency to ensure a better future for generations to come.

“Australia Post aligns itself as an equal opportunity employer, offering support and genuine pathways into meaningful employment through school-based and adult traineeships and internships for our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community members.

“Australia Post also recognises that 2017 marks the 50th year since the 1967 referendum, when Australians voted overwhelmingly to amend the constitution and provide rights to our First Peoples, so it is fitting that we can honour this occasion with our Australian Legends philatelic issue,” Mr Fahour said.
The Legends Award criteria honours inspirational living Australians who exemplify tenacity, imagination, perseverance, devotion, integrity and compassion.

Prof. Thomas Edwin Calma said about receiving the award:

“Advocates like myself never seek the spotlight for the work we do, and while I am acknowledged in the stamp, many who have walked with me share this honour. I am proud, humbled and appreciate that my lifetime work and the achievements of Indigenous advocates and our colleagues are celebrated in such a meaningful way. I hope that occasions like this highlight what is achievable in a lifetime and will encourage greater advocacy for equality. Together we can affect change.” Dr Lowitja O’Donoghue said about receiving the award:

“Our work towards equality never stops, and I appreciate that our wider community recognises the changes we have instigated and continue to strive for even today, 50 years from the 1967 Australian Referendum.” Dr Galarrwuy Yunupingu said about receiving the award:

“Advocacy has never been more important for our Indigenous communities, and I’m grateful that our work to address inequality is being recognised and celebrated across the country.”

We use cookies to improve your experience. By your continued use of this site you accept such use. To change your settings please see our policy