Lunar New Year: Year of the Rat

October 17th, 2007

In observance of Feb. 7, 2008 Lunar New Year holiday, the U.S. Postal Service introduces a new series of Lunar New Year stamps that will continue through 2019. Beginning with the Year of the Rat in 2008, stamps issued in consecutive years will include the Year of the Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Ram, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Boar.

Art director Ethel Kessler of Bethesda, MD, worked on the new series with illustrator Kam Mak, an artist who grew up in New York City's Chinatown and now lives in Brooklyn.