New Year 2014 Postage Stamps from Thailand – National Flowers of 10 ASEAN Countries

November 19th, 2013

Thai post issued a set of 10 postage stamps commemorating the coming New Year 2014 and depicting national flowers of 10 countries members of ASEAN.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is ageo-politicaland economic organization of ten countries located in Southeast Asia, which was formed on 8 August 1967 byIndonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Since then, membership has expanded to include Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. Its aims include accelerating economic growth, social progress, cultural development among its members, protection of regional peace and stability, and opportunities for member countries to discuss differences peacefully.

The stamps depict the following national flowers: Simpor (Brunei), Romdul (Cambodia), Angrekbulan (Indonesia), Dok Champa (Laos), Bungaraya (Hibiscus) (Malaysia), Padauk (Myanmar), Sampaguita Jasmine (the Philippines), Vanda Miss Joaquim (Singapore), Ratchaphruek (Thailand), Lotus (Vietnam).

Tags: #Thailand