Racecourses in Australia – one of the most impressive events

October 19th, 2014

FindYourStampsValue.com got the news that Australian Post is to issue a set of original stamps dedicated to its racecourses that are regularly held in the country. This stamp issue recognises four of Australia's metropolitan racecourses, on which the lion's share of Australia's Group 1 races are run. The stamp issue consists of four stamps that are to be issued on the 7th of October.

Eagle Farm is Queensland's foremost racing venue and home to the Brisbane Racing Club. It was established in the Brisbane suburb of Ascot in 1863 and has hosted race meetings ever since. Its main racing event is the Brisbane Racing Carnival, held each May–June.

Royal Randwick, home of the Australian Turf Club, is Australia's oldest major racecourse, established as Sandy Course in 1833. It moved to Homebush in 1838, before returning to Randwick in 1860. Its recent redevelopments include a new six-level grandstand and the "Theatre of the Horse", an outdoor amphitheatre.

Located in Adelaide, Morphettville is home to the South Australian Jockey Club and is the hub of the state's horseracing. The first races were run at Morphettville in 1875, and today it hosts around 60 race days annually, of which Adelaide Cup Day is the feature event.

Flemington is the oldest continuing metropolitan racecourse in the country, with races run every year since 1840. The centrepiece of its spring racing carnival is the Melbourne Cup, Australia's premier race, which was first run here in 1861. Flemington is also home to the Victoria Racing Club, which celebrates its 150th anniversary in 2014.


Tags: #Australia