Singapore’s 4 major festivals marked with stamps. Eight special items introduced by Singapore Post

October 24th, 2016 hurries to inform our readers that Singapore Post has introduced a new set of stamps featuring the four major festivals.

It comprises eight designs in two denominations: 1st local and 70 cents. The four festivals – Chinese New Year, Hari Raya Aidilfitri, Deepavali and Christmas – will each get two stamps with different graphic designs.

Singapore Post said the festivals were chosen as they celebrate the “rich and diverse cultural heritage” of Singapore’s multiracial society.
Singapore is a melting pot of cultures, with Chinese, Malay and Indian ethnic groups comprising its socio-cultural fabric. It is well-known to be a society where a hybrid of cultures and communities of different faiths and beliefs coexist and live harmoniously. In this issue, four major festivals are graphically depicted – Chinese New Year, Hari Raya, Deepavali and Christmas.