Six distinguished diplomats honored on U.S. postage stamps

May 30th, 2006

Six U.S. diplomats-Hiram Bingham IV, Charles E. Bohlen, Philip C. Habib, Robert D. Murphy, Clifton R. Wharton, Sr., and Frances E. Willis-were commemorated on U.S. postage stamps today for their contributions to international relations as negotiators, administrators, trailblazers, shapers of policy, peacemakers and humanitarians.

The "Distinguished American Diplomats" commemorative postage stamps dedication ceremony took center stage during the Washington 2006 World Philatelic Exhibition at the Washington Convention Center in Washington, DC. The stamps are available in Washington, DC, today and nationwide May 31.