The Centenary of the Union of Finnish Actors stamps from Finland

March 6th, 2013

To celebrate the centennial of the Finnish actors' federation, Itella Posti Oy is releasing a stamp booklet that features six renowned Finnish actors: Ritva Valkama, Esko Salminen, Outi Maenpaa, Martti Suosalo, Krista Kosonen, and Aku Hirviniemi.

Klaus Welp, who designed the stamp booklet, decided to approach the subject from a modern perspective that pays tribute to the long tradition of the acting profession.

The actors featured on the stamps were selected by Itella's stamp committee. Members of the committee decided that the jubilee stamps should feature popular actors from various generations – actors who represent the entire spectrum of their profession in theaters, films, and television.

Each actor was involved in the illustration of their own stamp by choosing a performance or role that was particularly meaningful for them. The roles featured on the stamps have also been memorable for audiences.