The gorgeous Zodiac Constellations depicted on a new Latvian stamp issue

August 17th, 2015 hurries to inform that Latvian Post has prepared for releasing a special set of stamps that depict 12 beautiful and mysterious Zodiac Constellations. The issue was unveiled and put on sale on the 7th of August.

During the course of one year, the earth orbits around the sun. From the earth's point of view the sun appears to shift through a background of many different constellations. This apparent path of the sun is called ecliptic and the constellations along this path define the circle of the Zodiac.

They are (see labels): Aries the ram, Taurus the bull, Gemini the twins, Cancer the crab, Leo the lion, Virgo the virgin, Libra the scales, Scorpius the scorpion, Sagittarius the archer, Capricornus the goat, Aquarius the water bearer, and Pisces the fishes.

The division in twelve signs of the Zodiac was probably already introduced 3000 years ago in Babylonia. Following the moons phases the year was divided into twelve months. For each month an equal zone along the ecliptic was defined as a sign of the Zodiac to create the first known celestial coordinate system and the predecessor of our modern calendar.

Tags: #Latvia