November 30th, 2014

The winners of Papal Visit Stamp Design Competition were announced

Tags: is glad to inform that four winners in the on-the-spot papal visit stamp design competition were chosen on the 24th of November. The winners are: Bryan Michael Bunag, Mark Leo Maac from Bulacan, Dave Arjay Tan and Salvador Banares Jr., both from Valenzuela City.

The winning design was made by student Don Bryan Michael Bunag from Bulakan, Bulacan.

Another winning entry in the student category from the same province was created by Mark Leo Maac of Malolos, who drew the Pope with a red background.

In addition, entries for the professional category came from Dave Arjay Tan and Salvador Banares Jr of Valenzuela City. Tan's work showed a smiling pontiff with the Philippine flag at the background, while the work of Banares showed a figure holding a child in front of the sketch of the pontiff.

Postmaster General Josefina Dela Cruz said the four winning designs will be used for the "Pope Francis Visit to the Philippines" stamps, which will be launched in January 2015.

During the National Stamp Collecting Month (NSCM) launch last Monday, Dela Cruz said the stamps might be sold for P10 each. PHLPost will be printing more than the usual 100,000 copies of the papal visit stamp with hopes it will draw much following from the public, especially since Pope Francis is coming close to the popularity of John Paul II.

We use cookies to improve your experience. By your continued use of this site you accept such use. To change your settings please see our policy