Toledo – a city of heritage – was commemorating with a new issue

June 21st, 2014

A total of 13 Spanish cities are included on the Urban World Heritage Sites list, recognized by UNESCO for the interest of their historic and artistic districts. Toledo, a city of heritage and the reason for this issue, has been a part of this list since 1986.

Formerly an imperial city and centre of culture in medieval and Renaissance times, Toledo stands on a hill, with the River Tagus at its foot. Its urban layout with narrow, winding streets, lined with Gothic, Mudéjar and Renaissance buildings  has remained almost unaltered over the centuries and gives an insight into its historical past.

Toledo, along with Acalá de Henares, Avila, Cáceres, Cordoba, Cuenca, Ibiza, Mérida, Salamanca, San Cristóbal de la Laguna, Santiago de Compostela, Segovia and Tarragona, all 13 urban heritage cities, founded the Spanish Group of World Heritage Cities in 1993. This non-profit association aims to act as one in the defence and promotion of the historic and cultural heritage of the component cities, as well as to defend common interests, find solutions to similar issues and promote quality cultural tourism.

The engraved souvenir sheet reproduces a view of Toledo from the opposite bank of the River Tagus. The stamps show the Primate Cathedral and the Alcázar.

Tags: #Spain